Drink Your (Lemon) Water

Sebastian (Photo by Karissa Martin)

Everyone knows that drinking water is essential to your health: it boosts your metabolism, curbs hunger and the list goes on. But, what about lemon water? I’ve read a lot about the health benefits of lemons and why you should incorporate them into your diet (see here). They have many beauty benefits, and they’re an easy way to add flavor to salads or protein like chicken and fish without adding a bunch of empty calories. I also like to use a little spritz of lemon juice with eggs. Lemons add delicious flavor to both sweets and savories, so it’s kind of a no brainer!

Though I knew that they’re good for me, one aspect of lemons that I had not heard a lot about is their metabolism-boosting qualities. I sort of follow the Food Babe, and she has an old post on the benefits of drinking warm water, cayenne and lemon juice every morning on an empty stomach. She says it gives her a boost of energy, makes her feel lighter and gives her clearer skin, not to mention the metabolism boosting benefits. Most of what Vani posts seems to be legit and well researched, and I completely support the work that she’s been doing in the American food industry. This is completely off topic, but there’s still something about her that bothers me (…maybe it’s because she calls herself the Food Babe?). Regardless, I still think she has some really great information on health and how to live your healthiest, most energetic life. That is why I thought I would try this little concoction to see if I feel any positive changes.  It all makes sense, so why not?

This week’s challenge is to drink lemon water with cayenne every single morning. Vani says to drink it when you wake up, before you eat anything. I’ve seen different methods of boosting metabolism, such as adding cinnamon or cayenne pepper to food, taking B vitamins or drinking a couple tablespoons of apple cider vinegar in the morning. I actually tried apple cider vinegar with water for a while; I did notice an energy increase in the morning, but I think the vinegar irritated my stomach, so I quit. Lemon is milder, so I think it will probably be better suited for me than apple cider vinegar. Will the lemon and cayenne actually have any effect? I’m not expecting miracles, but I’m hoping for a little energy boost in the morning. If it jumpstarts my metabolism, then that is an added bonus!

Here are some recipes to incorporate a little more lemon in your diet!

1.) Chicken Penne in Lemon Basil Sauce (The Gracious Pantry): This is a delicious, clean eating take on chicken penne pasta perfect for any weeknight.

2.) Lemon Bars with Coconut (This Rawsome Vegan Life): Lemon and coconut? Yum. Perfect if you’re looking forward to the warm months ahead.

3.) Strawberry Watermelon Lemonade (Rawmazing): This would be the perfect refreshing drink to kick off spring (one can only hope).

Have a great week and happy eating!

2 thoughts on “Drink Your (Lemon) Water

  1. Pingback: Is it Spring Yet? | Kittens and Quinoa

Leave a Reply

